Engineering | School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering

Faculty Directory

 

 

 

James AbbasJames Abbas, Associate Professor
james.abbas@asu.edu
Lab: Center for Adaptive Neural Systems 
(480) 965-9521

David Brafman David Brafman, Assistant Professor
david.brafman@asu.edu
Lab: Stem Cell Bioengineering Lab
(480) 727-2859

Christopher Buneo Christopher Buneo, Associate Professor
cbuneo@asu.edu
Lab: Visuomotor Learning Lab
(480) 727-0841

Michael Caplan Michael Caplan, Associate Professor
michael.caplan@asu.edu
Lab: BioActive Materials Laboratory
(480) 965-5144

Mo EbrahimkhaniMo Ebrahimkhani, Assistant Professor
mo.ebrahimkhani@asu.edu
Lab: Mo Ebrahimkhani Lab

David FrakesDavid Frakes, Associate Professor
dfrakes@asu.edu
Lab: IPA Lab

Emma Frow Emma Frow, Assistant Professor
emma.frow@asu.edu
(480) 727-7798

Antonio García Antonio García, Professor
tony.garcia@asu.edu
Lab: Personalized Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory

Bradley Greger Bradley Greger, Associate Professor
bradley.greger@asu.edu
Lab: Neural Engineering Laboratory
(480) 965-9134

SteveCraft_I9A2249-1_small copyKarmella Haynes, Assistant Professor
Karmella.Haynes@asu.edu
Lab: Haynes Synthetic Biology Laboratory
(480) 965-4636

Stephen Helms Tillery Stephen Helms Tillery, Associate Professor & Fellow of the Lincoln Center for Applied Ethics
steve.helmstillery@asu.edu
Lab: Sensorimotor Research Group
                                   (480) 965-0753

Claire Honeycutt Claire Honeycutt, Assistant Professor
claire.honeycutt@asu.edu
Lab: Human Mobility Lab
(480) 965-8453

Tony Hu Tony Hu, Associate Professor
tony.hu@asu.edu

Samira KianiSamira Kiani, Assistant Professor
samira.kiani@asu.edu
Lab: Samira Kiani Lab

Jeff Kleim Jeff Kleim, Associate Professor
jakleim@asu.edu
(480) 965-8354

Vikram Kodibagkar Vikram Kodibagkar, Associate Professor
Vikram.Kodibagkar@asu.edu
Lab: ProBE Lab
(480) 965-463

Jeffrey LaBelle Jeffrey La Belle, Assistant Professor
jeffrey.labelle@asu.edu
Lab: La Belle Lab
(480) 727-9061

Thurman Lockhart Thurmon Lockhart, Professor
thurmon.lockhart@asu.edu
Lab: Locomotion Lab
(480) 965-149

Stephen Massia Stephen Massia, Associate Professor
smassia@asu.edu
Lab: Massia Laboratory
(480) 965-2448

Jit Muthuswamy Jit Muthuswamy, Associate Professor
jit@asu.edu
Lab: Neural Microsystems Laboratory
(480) 965-1599

Mehdi NikkhahMehdi Nikkhah, Assistant Professor
mehdi.nikkhah@asu.edu
Lab: Nikkhah Laboratory
(480) 965-0339

Vincent PizziconiVincent Pizziconi, Associate Professor
vincent.pizziconi@asu.edu
Lab: Laboratory of BioInspired Complex Adaptive Systems
(480) 965-1071

Christopher Plaisier Christopher Plaisier, Assistant Professor
plaisier@asu.edu
Lab: Plaisier Lab
(480) 965-6832

Rosalind Sadleir Rosalind Sadleir, Assistant Professor
rosalind.sadleir@asu.edu
Lab: Neuro-electricity Lab
(480) 727-9790

santello_marco_webMarco Santello, School Director and Professor
marco.santello@asu.edu
Lab: Neural Control of Movement Laboratory
(480) 965-8279

schaefer-sydney-web Sydney Schaefer, Assistant Professor
Sydney.Schaefer@asu.edu
(480) 727-6651

Barbara Smith Barbara Smith, Assistant Professor
BarbaraSmith@asu.edu
Lab: Smith Laboratory
(480) 727-8988

Sarah Stabenfeldt Sarah Stabenfeldt, Associate Professor
Sarah.Stabenfeldt@asu.edu
Lab: Stabenfeldt Lab
(480) 965-8336

Xiaojun Tian Xiaojun Tian, Assistant Professor
xtian27@asu.edu
Lab: Tian Lab

Jamie TylerJamie Tyler, Associate Professor
william.tyler@asu.edu
Lab: Tyler Lab

Brent Vernon Brent Vernon, Associate Professor
brent.vernon@asu.edu
Lab: Biomaterials Laboratory
(480) 965-0929

Xiao Wang Xiao Wang, Associate Professor
xiaowang@asu.edu
Lab: Xiao Laboratory
(480) 727-8696

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sarah WyckoffSarah Wyckoff, Assistant Research Professor
Sarah.Wyckoff@asu.edu

 

Xi ZongXi Zong, Assistant Research Technologist
Xi.Zong@asu.edu

 

Troy McDaniel Troy McDaniel, Research Assistant Professor
troy.mcdaniel@asu.edu
Lab: http://cubic.asu.edu
(480) 694-0021

 

Affiliated Faculty

Daniel Peterson
Affiliate Faculty
daniel.peterson1@asu.edu
ASU – School of Nutrition and Health Promotion
Nongjian Tao
Affiliate Faculty
njtao@asu.edu
ASU – School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

Adjunct Faculty

David Adelson
Adjunct Faculty
dadelson@phoenixchildrens.com
Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Eric Maass
Adjunct Faculty
eric.maass@medtronic.com
Medtronic, Inc.
Marek Belohlavek
Adjunct Faculty
Belohlavek.Marek@Mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale
Vladimir Marlinski
Adjunct Faculty
vladimir.marlinski@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Antonio Bicchi
Adjunct Faculty
antonio.bicchi@gmail.com
University of Pisa
Jeffrey Miller
Adjunct Faculty
jhmiller@phoenixchildrens.com
Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Robert Bowser
Adjunct Faculty
robert.bowser@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute and St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center
Zaman Mirzadeh
Adjunct Faculty
zaman.mirzadeh@barrowbrainandspine.com
Barrow Neurological Institute
Erin Childers
Adjunct Faculty
echilders88@gmail.com
Sonoran Biosciences
Vinay Nagaraj
Adjunct Faculty
vinay.gilbert@gmail.com
Midwestern University
Brian Chong
Adjunct Faculty 
Chong.brian@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Phoenix
Kelvin Ning
Adjunct Faculty
kelvin@medicoventures.com
MediCoventures, LLC
Catherine Chong
Adjunct Faculty 
chong.catherine@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Phoenix
Derek Overstreet
Adjunct Faculty 
Derek.Overstreet@gmail.com
Sonoran Biosciences
Gordon Cohen
Adjunct Faculty – Professor of Practice
gordon.cohen@cogenitalcardiac.com
Banner Children’s Hospital
Pranav Parikh
Adjunct Faculty 
pjparikh2@uh.edu
University of Houston
Curtiss Cook
Adjunct Faculty
cook.curtiss@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale

CP Pathak
Adjunct Faculty
Bard Peripheral Vascular
cppathak@gmail.com

Jeffrey Cornella
Adjunct Faculty
cornella.jeffrey@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale

Joseph Peles
Adjunct Faculty
BioRec
jpeles@biorec.com

Neil Crawford
Adjunct Faculty
neil.r.crawford@gmail.com
Globus Medical, Inc.
Christopher Chad Quarles
Adjunct Faculty 
Chad.Quarles@BarrowNeuro.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Debra Crews
Adjunct Faculty
crewsd@asu.edu
ASU – Athletics
Justin Ryan
Adjunct Faculty 
jryan1@phoenixchildrens.com
Phoenix Childrens Hospital
Aman Deep
Adjunct Faculty
adeep1@uthsc.edu
UTHSC – Dept. of Neurology
Ruchir Sehra
Adjunct Faculty 
ruchir1969@gmail.com
Incyphae, Inc.
Stephen Foldes
Adjunct Faculty
sfoldes@phoenixchildrens.com
Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Ayan Sen
Adjunct Faculty
sen.ayan@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale
Morgan Giers
Adjunct Faculty
Morgan.Giers@gmail.com
Barrow Neurological Institute, St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center
Jeremy Shefner
Adjunct Faculty 
Jeremy.Shefner@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Joseph Grande
Adjunct Faculty
grande.joseph@mayo.edu
Mayo, Rochester, MN
Rachael Sirianni
Adjunct Faculty
rachael.sirianni@dignityhealth.org
St. Joseph’s Hospital & Medical Center
Thomas Hamm
Adjunct Faculty
Thomas.Hamm@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute, St. Joseph’s Hospital
Mark Spano
Adjunct Faculty
mark.spano@asu.edu
ASU
William Andrew Hodge
Adjunct Faculty
andrewhodgemd@gmail.com
Hodge Knee & Hip, LLC
Michael Stein
Adjunct Faculty
mandmstein@msn.com
Barrow Neurological Institute
Rafiqul (Mohammed) Islam
Adjunct Faculty 
rafiqul.islam@gmail.com
Intel Corporation
Carmen Terzic
Adjunct Faculty
terzic.carmen@mayo.edu
Mayo, Rochester, MN
Marc Jacofsky
Adjunct Faculty 
marc.jacofsky@thecoreinstitute.com
The Core Institute
Gregory Turner
Adjunct Faculty
gregory.turner@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Brian Kelly
Adjunct Faculty 
Brian.kelly@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute / Dignity Health
Dean Wingerchuk
Adjunct Faculty
wingerchuk.dean@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic
Inder Raj S. Makin
Adjunct Faculty
imakin@atsu.edu
A.T. Still University
Johnny Yi
Adjunct Faculty
yi.johnny@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic
Alex C McLaren
Adjunct Faculty
amclaren@cox.net
Alex C McLaren MD PC

Volunteer Faculty

Bernard Bendok, M.D.
Professor
Bendok.Bernard@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic

Rahmi Oklu, M.D.
Professor
Oklu.Rahmi@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic

Michael Lawton, M.D.
Professor
michael.lawton@barrowbrainandspine.com
Barrow Neurological Institute

 

 

 

 

James Abbas

 

 


James Abbas
,
Associate Professor
james.abbas@asu.edu
Lab: Center for Adaptive Neural Systems 
(480) 965-9521

 

David Brafman

 

 


David Brafman
,
Assistant Professor
david.brafman@asu.edu
Lab: Stem Cell Bioengineering Lab
(480) 727-2859

 

Christopher Buneo

 

 


Christopher Buneo
,
Associate Professor
cbuneo@asu.edu
Lab: Visuomotor Learning Lab
(480) 727-0841

 

Michael Caplan

 

 


Michael Caplan,
Associate Professor
michael.caplan@asu.edu
Lab: BioActive Materials Laboratory
(480) 965-5144

 

Mo Ebrahimkhani

 

 


Mo Ebrahimkhani
,
Assistant Professor
mo.ebrahimkhani@asu.edu
Lab: Mo Ebrahimkhani Lab

 

David Frakes

 

 

 

David Frakes, Associate Professor
dfrakes@asu.edu
Lab: IPA Lab

 

Emma Frow

 

 


Emma Frow,
Assistant Professor
emma.frow@asu.edu
(480) 727-7798

 

Antonio García

 

 

 

Antonio García, Professor
tony.garcia@asu.edu
Lab: Personalized Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory

 

Bradley Greger

 

 


Bradley Greger
,
Associate Professor
bradley.greger@asu.edu
Lab: Neural Engineering Laboratory
(480) 965-9134

 

SteveCraft_I9A2249-1_small copy

 

 

 

Karmella Haynes, Assistant Professor
Karmella.Haynes@asu.edu
Lab: Haynes Synthetic Biology Laboratory
(480) 965-4636

 

Stephen Helms Tillery

 

 


Stephen Helms Tillery
,
Associate Professor & Fellow of the Lincoln Center for Applied Ethics
steve.helmstillery@asu.edu
Lab: Sensorimotor Research Group
(480) 965-0753

 

Claire Honeycutt

 

 


Claire Honeycutt
,
Assistant Professor
claire.honeycutt@asu.edu
Lab: Human Mobility Lab
(480) 965-8453

 

Tony Hu

 

 


Tony Hu
,
Associate Professor
tony.hu@asu.edu

 

Samira Kiani

 

 


Samira Kiani
,
Assistant Professor
samira.kiani@asu.edu
Lab: Samira Kiani Lab

 

Jeff Kleim

 

 


Jeff Kleim
,
Associate Professor
jakleim@asu.edu
(480) 965-8354

 

Vikram Kodibagkar

 

 


Vikram Kodibagkar
,
Associate Professor
Vikram.Kodibagkar@asu.edu
Lab: ProBE Lab
(480) 965-463

 

Jeffrey LaBelle

 

 


Jeffrey La Belle
,
Assistant Professor
jeffrey.labelle@asu.edu
Lab: La Belle Lab
(480) 727-9061

 

Thurman Lockhart

 

 

 

Thurmon Lockhart, Professor
thurmon.lockhart@asu.edu
Lab: Locomotion Lab
(480) 965-149

 

Stephen Massia

 

 

 

Stephen Massia, Associate Professor
smassia@asu.edu
Lab: Massia Laboratory
(480) 965-2448

 

Jit Muthuswamy

 

 


Jit Muthuswamy
,
Associate Professor
jit@asu.edu
Lab: Neural Microsystems Laboratory
(480) 965-1599

 

Mehdi Nikkhah

 

 


Mehdi Nikkhah
,
Assistant Professor
mehdi.nikkhah@asu.edu
Lab: Nikkhah Laboratory
(480) 965-0339

 

Vincent Pizziconi

 

 


Vincent Pizziconi
,
Associate Professor
vincent.pizziconi@asu.edu
Lab: Laboratory of BioInspired Complex Adaptive Systems
(480) 965-1071

 

Christopher Plaisier

 

 


Christopher Plaisier
,
Assistant Professor
plaisier@asu.edu
Lab: Plaiser Lab
(480) 965-6832

 

Rosalind Sadleir

 

 


Rosalind Sadleir
,
Assistant Professor
rosalind.sadleir@asu.edu
Lab: Neuro-electricity Lab
(480) 727-9790

 

santello_marco_web

 

 


Marco Santello
,
School Director and Professor
marco.santello@asu.edu
Lab: Neural Control of Movement Laboratory
(480) 965-8279

 

schaefer-sydney-web

 

 


Sydney Schaefer
, Assistant Professor
Sydney.Schaefer@asu.edu
(480) 727-6651

 

Barbara Smith

 

 


Barbara Smith
,
Assistant Professor
BarbaraSmith@asu.edu
Lab: Smith Laboratory
(480) 727-8988

 

Sarah Stabenfeldt

 

 


Sarah Stabenfeldt
,
Associate Professor
Sarah.Stabenfeldt@asu.edu
Lab: Stabenfeldt Lab
(480) 965-8336

 

Xiaojun Tian

 

 


Xiaojun Tian
,
Assistant Professor
xtian27@asu.edu
Lab: Tian Lab

 

Jamie Tyler

 

 


Jamie Tyler
,
Associate Professor
william.tyler@asu.edu
Lab: Tyler Lab

 

Brent Vernon

 

 


Brent Vernon
,
Associate Professor
brent.vernon@asu.edu
Lab: Biomaterials Laboratory
(480) 965-0929

 

Xiao Wang

 

 


Xiao Wang
,
Associate Professor
xiaowang@asu.edu
Lab: Xiao Laboratory
(480) 727-8696

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sarah Wyckoff

 

 

 

Sarah Wyckoff, Assistant Research Professor
Sarah.Wyckoff@asu.edu

 

Xi Zong

 

 

 

Xi Zong, Assistant Research Technologist
Xi.Zong@asu.edu

 

Troy McDaniel

 

 

 

Troy McDaniel, Research Assistant Professor
troy.mcdaniel@asu.edu
Lab: http://cubic.asu.edu
(480) 694-0021

 

Jerry Coursen

 

 

Jerry Coursen, Lecturer
jerry.coursen@asu.edu
(480) 965-2366

Olivia Burnsed

 

 

Olivia BurnsedLecturer
oburnsed@asu.edu
(480) 727-9731

Michael VanAuker

 

 

Michael VanAuker, Lecturer
michael.vanauker@asu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Daniel Peterson
Affiliate Faculty
daniel.peterson1@asu.edu
ASU – School of Nutrition and Health Promotion
Nongjian Tao
Affiliate Faculty
njtao@asu.edu
ASU – School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

Adjunct Faculty

David Adelson
Adjunct Faculty
dadelson@phoenixchildrens.com
Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Marek Belohlavek
Adjunct Faculty
Belohlavek.Marek@Mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale
Antonio Bicchi
Adjunct Faculty
antonio.bicchi@gmail.com
University of Pisa
Robert Bowser
Adjunct Faculty
robert.bowser@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute and St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center
Erin Childers
Adjunct Faculty
echilders88@gmail.com
Sonoran Biosciences
Brian Chong
Adjunct Faculty 
Chong.brian@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Phoenix
Catherine Chong
Adjunct Faculty 
chong.catherine@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Phoenix
Gordon Cohen
Adjunct Faculty – Professor of Practice
gordon.cohen@cogenitalcardiac.com
Banner Children’s Hospital
Curtiss Cook
Adjunct Faculty
cook.curtiss@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale
Jeffrey Cornella
Adjunct Faculty
cornella.jeffrey@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale
Neil Crawford
Adjunct Faculty
neil.r.crawford@gmail.com
Globus Medical, Inc.
Debra Crews
Adjunct Faculty
crewsd@asu.edu
ASU – Athletics
Aman Deep
Adjunct Faculty
adeep1@uthsc.edu
UTHSC – Dept. of Neurology
Stephen Foldes
Adjunct Faculty
sfoldes@phoenixchildrens.com
Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Morgan Giers
Adjunct Faculty
Morgan.Giers@gmail.com
Barrow Neurological Institute, St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center
Joseph Grande
Adjunct Faculty
grande.joseph@mayo.edu
Mayo, Rochester, MN
Thomas Hamm
Adjunct Faculty
Thomas.Hamm@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute, St. Joseph’s Hospital
William Andrew Hodge
Adjunct Faculty
andrewhodgemd@gmail.com
Hodge Knee & Hip, LLC
Rafiqul (Mohammed) Islam
Adjunct Faculty 
rafiqul.islam@gmail.com
Intel Corporation
Marc Jacofsky
Adjunct Faculty 
marc.jacofsky@thecoreinstitute.com
The Core Institute
Brian Kelly
Adjunct Faculty 
Brian.kelly@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute / Dignity Health
Inder Raj S. Makin
Adjunct Faculty
imakin@atsu.edu
A.T. Still University
Alex C McLaren
Adjunct Faculty
amclaren@cox.net
Alex C McLaren MD PC
Eric Maass
Adjunct Faculty
eric.maass@medtronic.com
Medtronic, Inc.
Vladimir Marlinski
Adjunct Faculty
vladimir.marlinski@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Jeffrey Miller
Adjunct Faculty
jhmiller@phoenixchildrens.com
Phoenix Children’s Hospital
Zaman Mirzadeh
Adjunct Faculty
zaman.mirzadeh@barrowbrainandspine.com
Barrow Neurological Institute
Vinay Nagaraj
Adjunct Faculty
vinay.gilbert@gmail.com
Midwestern University
Kelvin Ning
Adjunct Faculty
kelvin@medicoventures.com
MediCoventures, LLC
Derek Overstreet
Adjunct Faculty 
Derek.Overstreet@gmail.com
Sonoran Biosciences
Pranav Parikh
Adjunct Faculty 
pjparikh2@uh.edu
University of Houston
Christopher Chad Quarles
Adjunct Faculty 
Chad.Quarles@BarrowNeuro.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Justin Ryan
Adjunct Faculty 
jryan1@phoenixchildrens.com
Phoenix Childrens Hospital
Ruchir Sehra
Adjunct Faculty 
ruchir1969@gmail.com
Incyphae, Inc.
Ayan Sen
Adjunct Faculty
sen.ayan@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale
Jeremy Shefner
Adjunct Faculty 
Jeremy.Shefner@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Rachael Sirianni
Adjunct Faculty
rachael.sirianni@dignityhealth.org
St. Joseph’s Hospital & Medical Center
Mark Spano
Adjunct Faculty
mark.spano@asu.edu
ASU
Michael Stein
Adjunct Faculty
mandmstein@msn.com
Barrow Neurological Institute
Carmen Terzic
Adjunct Faculty
terzic.carmen@mayo.edu
Mayo, Rochester, MN
Gregory Turner
Adjunct Faculty
gregory.turner@dignityhealth.org
Barrow Neurological Institute
Dean Wingerchuk
Adjunct Faculty
wingerchuk.dean@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic
Johnny Yi
Adjunct Faculty
yi.johnny@mayo.edu
Mayo Clinic